I thought I would start a monthly review sort of thing of all the books I have been reading. I’m doing this partly to keep track of what I have been reading myself and also when I read them, but I thought it would also be fun just to record my opinions and views on the book and give some recommendations.

Firstly, I will say that my preferred genres are romance/ rom-com, fantasy, classics and sometimes history. I find romances are usually enjoyable easy reads that I can chill out to, and this has definitely been the main (only) genre I read last month, so although it is a little late, here are the books I read:

  1. Love from Paris by Alexandra Potter was the first book I read in February. I would definitely rate this book five stars. The story was incredibly gripping; it wasn’t just a romance, perhaps it could be considered more of a mystery as the main plot involves a woman unravelling a love story from around seventy years ago. I loved the way it was written, and after not having read a proper book in quite a while, I found this a real page turner and I couldn’t put it down. I haven’t read anything else by this author so I am looking forward to trying a few more of hers; I would definitely recommend this.
  2. The Book Lovers by Victoria Connelly was the second book I read. I would probably give this book four stars. I loved the characters the most I think, the close relationships presented within the family in this book are so moving. This book made me regret, for a short while, that I own a kindle and read all my books on that rather than read hardback books. This is because the story is mostly set in a bookshop and I love the way the characters were so passionate about books. This book is also the first of three in a series and I believe the second one was released only two weeks ago, on Valentine’s Day, so I am looking forward to reading that.
  3. Filthy Beautiful Lies by Kendall Ryan
  4. Filthy Beautiful Love by Kendall Ryan
  5. Filthy Beautiful Lust by Kendall Ryan
  6. Filthy Beautiful Forever by Kendall Ryan

The last four books I read in February were a series, written by Kendall Ryan; the genre of these, however, is more erotic romance. Although there are a lot of sexual scenes throughout all the books, they all had such great characterization and strong storylines that I also cried at one part in book one because the story was so moving. I love a book that is able to make you feel such contrasting emotions throughout, so for that reason I would give book one five stars. Again, the second is worth five stars. I loved the way in which all the books were written, so I will definitely check out some works by the same author. Along with this, the storyline was very gripping; I read this entire series in under a week. Although I didn’t love books three and four quite as much, I thought the series as a whole was great and the ending is bought together very well. I would recommend all four books.

I will write a March review of all the books I will have read this month.

5 thoughts on “Books I’ve read: February Review

Leave a comment