Okay, I really can’t believe it has been two months since I last posted anything, so I’m sorry about that. I honestly don’t know where the time has gone, obviously with Christmas and then going back to uni in the New Year and now suddenly we’re in February. I am a bit annoyed though for not posting more often because I had so many blog ideas for the Christmas holidays and then for the New Year but oh well, time to look forward now and make new ideas!

I will not fill you in on what I’ve been up to because it has honestly not been that exciting. But, I will say that I have been thinking a lot recently about different aspects of my life, such as my uni work and studying, my health: what I eat and how often I exercise, where to go with this blog. Sometimes I think it is so important just to sit back and put everything into perspective. Look at how healthy you are, look at what sort of person you are and the people you surround yourself with.

For example, this is what I have realised for me:

  1. Uni work: I have realised that although I do all the set work required for uni, I am not putting in any extra time, any extra effort to learn new things/revise old things. Because I am studying languages there is always something new to learn or revise; whether this is grammar based, vocabulary or tenses, watching films and reading books, or even content for my actual degree, there is always something I could be doing. I want to start dedicating a certain amount of time every single day to doing something extra to improve my language skills.
  2. Diet: I’ve been really interested in veganism recently, and I have watched far too many of those ‘what I eat in a day’ YouTube videos. I just find them so interesting, seeing how people fit healthy but cheap meals into their ordinary lives. Although I would not turn vegan right now, it is something I would definitely consider later on. But just for now in my everyday life, I have realised that I simply don’t eat enough fruit and vegetables. Whenever I feel hungry at uni I snack on chocolaty things, when I could have some sort of fruit instead. So that is something I have been working on recently. I also do not drink enough water so I am trying to do more of this.
  3. Exercise: This one is easy- I don’t exercise. That is what I have realised. It’s not that I don’t have the time because I do. I simply don’t have the motivation for it, maybe this is because I haven’t found a sport yet I really love so I am not motivated to do it. I have always been sporty in the past; I have been on different rounder’s teams, and always done cross country. I need to get back into something like this. Even if it is just a couple of times a week, it’s a start.
  4. People: I have been thinking about certain people I spend time with at uni and I have come to the conclusion that I need to stop spending so much time with them. They do not encourage me to be a better person, if anything they are a distraction because I normally only see them when I know I should be doing work. But then there are other people who I really should see more because I can see we are going to be good friends.
  5. This blog: I have been reading a few different blogs recently, specifically blogs that are really passionate and focused on one thing, rather than just talking about day to day events in someone’s life. So I have been thinking what do I love talking about? What do I study and enjoy doing every day and thrive to be fluent in? Languages. So that is what I want to focus part of this blog on from now on. Along with this new direction, I really want to start blogging more often and getting into a routine, rather than infrequent posts here and there.
  6. Finally, the last one is mentality: Everything can be seen differently, if you just change your attitude and mentality about it. Having a positive mentality will really help in so many different areas of your life, and this is something I really want to focus on and try to practice every single day.

That is everything! I suppose these little changes in my everyday life could be seen as a lifestyle change, well that’s what I want to call it anyway. I’m really looking forward to trying to apply them every day, and I will be doing a follow up post very soon highlighting specific daily goals. I will be using the printable ‘The Daily Habit’ which is such a good idea because I think, especially for me, it makes you more motivated to complete the daily goal as you can colour that box. Completing the month and seeing all the colourful boxes because you have achieved that goal also gives you a great deal of satisfaction and accomplishment.

I did not intend for this blog to be so long, but there we go. Have you ever created a lifestyle change for yourself and how did it go? Let me know!

Leave a comment